Title: 14 Stalemate

Boy I must have missed a chapter or two KatieQ!  None of the summary sounds familiar!  I'll have to go back and re-read before I can give you a decent review. But hey, if my posting a story is the only way to get you to post more of this one .... well I'll have to bite the bullet and crank out another one. 

Just kidding, good to see you still have a fire under this one.



Author's Response: Nice to hear from you as always.. have fun catching up. If I get more stories out of the deal.. then so be it! No complaints from this kid!

Reviewer: RaChell Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/09/08 06:19 am
Title: 14 Stalemate

Whoa . . .

This one was definitely worth the wait.  I love how you showed almost all the characters--tensions mounting, plots going awry on both sides of the Atlantic.  You gave us great emotional analysis of both Parker and Jarod.  I loved the Carthis flashback.  (Been too long since I've seen IotH, was that canon or a "missing scene"?  Either way, it was perfectly executed).  Also, great climax to months of speculation over Visser.

Sooo . . . next chap?  I know RL can be crazy, but hopefully you can find the time.



Author's Response: I'll keep up the good fight.. thesis vs fun :) The IotH bit was a missing created scene.. that movie frustrates me ;) I'm glad you enjoyed, and i cannot wait to read your next installment :)

Reviewer: MP Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/09/08 04:36 am
Title: Chapter 13 - Transitions

I like, I like!!! just hope mp doesn't change into what she's pretending to be. hope ur working on this!!

Author's Response: next chapter is ooh so close.. oh so close.. thanks though :)

Reviewer: CrackerjacknPez Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24/06/08 04:58 pm
Title: Chapter 13 - Transitions

wonderful!!!! *sigh* I've missed GBNF.... I sure hope uve got more. :-)))))

Reviewer: crackerjacknpez Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 17/06/08 08:29 am
Title: Chapter 13 - Transitions

I would like you to know that this is one of the best stories I have read about the pretender. 

You are a very talented writer and have a great ability to tie characters and plotlines together.

I have immensely enjoyed reading your stories...and I am eagerly awaiting the next installment of this one!

Have you ever thought about becoming a fiction writer?

Keep up the good work!!! 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your kind words :) They were very encouraging. I owe so much to my beta's, especially Terra who has helped immensely with the 'psychology' of the characters.

 It is always wonderful to hear that someone recognizes the effort that has gone into developing an intertwining story line! I hope you enjoy where the story ends up going.

 

Thanks again! :D 

Reviewer: Jmw Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25/02/08 12:16 am
Title: Prologue

My preferences are not your problem! Please do not take my last review to heart in that what I prefer or not.

Your story was well written, clear and smooth. I wish I could write as well.

I do look forward to seeing how you end this.

Author's Response:

Hey!

 

Thanks for the additional comment - and really it's great that you voiced your opinion. Anything is constructive. It's wonderful to hear that people are enjoying the read, but hearing constructive comments about characterizations, what people want to see etc is the only way any of us are going to get better!

Many thanks as to go to my beta's. I've been sending them some scary stuff lately, and they deserve all the credit for taking my garbled ideas and smoothing them together.

 

Thanks again - hope to hear from you next chapter ;) 

Reviewer: Bucky Anonymous starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 20/02/08 11:24 am
Title: Chapter 13 - Transitions

It took me several chapters to get into the story. It is well written, but for me when too many other characters are introduced you take something away from it being a Pretender or Centre story.

I admit it, I'm Parker fan first off --second -- I honestly don't see either Miss Parker or Jarod ever being happy with anyone else.

I think the episodes have shown that MP may hesitate and sometimes allow her upbringing to get in the way -but she ultimately does the right thing. AND she always pays the price for her hesitantancy or lack of trust in a situation.

You have very definite writing skills, you tell a wonderful story. My only problem (and it is more my problem than yours!)-- is that you introduce Parker too late into the story. I found myself scrolling down looking for more of her.

When you did write her in a few chapters ago, you did a good job with her interaction with the clone. I do believe she would without a thought, sacrifice herself to save Jarod. But then, that's me.

I do want to see how you continue this.

Author's Response:

Hey!

Thanks for the comments. I always like to discuss with people how they view the characters. I personally do agree with you about MP - that when it comes down to it in a 1:1 she will do the right thing.

But I also believe that her character took a bit of a turn after IOTH. I think she'll do the right thing, but i also feel that she believes that when it comes to certain situations, she is powerless. My primary goal after telling an interesting tale, is to stay true to the characters, while allowing them to grow within the context of the story. It is always nice to hear how people agree (or disagree) with how I see the characters.  

And you are right about one thing, I did neglect MP at the beginning of the story. I struggled with the Centre characters for the first bit, as I felt i needed to set the Africa stage, and they got kind of lost. I promise that they will be present for the rest of the story :)

As for original characters - i've tried to keep them to a minimum, because i know it is hard to warm up to them! The only one i've put much effort into is Lys, and i have to admit i've grown a bit attached to her. I hope that you can to by the end of this story - i keep MP in mind when writing a lot of her lines.

But thanks for the comprehensive review! I really appreciated it :)

Reviewer: Bucky Anonymous starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 20/02/08 11:08 am
Title: Chapter 13 - Transitions

I looooove your stories. This chapter was wonderful. I'm still trying to figure this guy out, but I REALLY hope Jarod and Lys make it. Good luck with your thesis. That's got to be awfully stressful. Maybe now I'll actually update my story since you're showing me up!

Author's Response: Awww, shucks!! Thanks so much TLM! It's nice to get some kind remarks, especially after such a long draught. I cannot wait to see the next installment of 27!! :)

Reviewer: TLM Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/02/08 08:48 pm
Title: Chapter 13 - Transitions

Awesome new chapter

Oh creepy little old man, what are you up to? Wonder how many steps down the hallway they'll get before they're apprehended.

Good luck with your thesis!

 



Author's Response:

Thanks! I really really need it the way things are going. I will graduate in August.. i will graduate in August.. I will...

 

Time shall tell what is what with Visser, but in the mean time, thanks for el review! 

Reviewer: Manoline Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16/02/08 10:39 am
Title: Chapter 13 - Transitions

Great chapter!  Worth the wait!

I especially loved the Parker/Lyle scene at the end.  The tension is to die for . . .

My only suggestion is give the chap a title.



Author's Response:

hahahaha.. it's been so long since i posted, i forgot to do one key step hey? Thanks.. i'm glad you enjoyed. Maybe you can give us a taste of your next chappie?? Eye for an eye??? ;)

 

Hope this school semester is treating you well. 



Author's Response:

hahahaha.. it's been so long since i posted, i forgot to do one key step hey? Thanks.. i'm glad you enjoyed. Maybe you can give us a taste of your next chappie?? Eye for an eye??? ;)

 

Hope this school semester is treating you well. 

Reviewer: MP Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/02/08 10:00 pm
Title: Chapter 13 - Transitions

Great Chapter, Katie.  Love how Lys is now the strong one and Jarod is the one needed help.  My favorite line is when Lys tells the guard to get "nice and intimate with the floor.".  It show the power she was commanding at that moment, without making her a b*^%h or an ice queen.  So the important question is how much is the thesis gonna interfer with the next chapter?

Author's Response: I'm glad you have your priorities straight re: my thesis versus the next chapter ;). But thanks for the feedback, I'm glad that you enjoyed and still could remember the plot line.

Reviewer: Tinanaz Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/02/08 08:47 pm
Title: Chapter 12 - A Deal with the Devil

Just re-read Gone but not forgotten. Been a while since the story was updated, but I still hope that it will be finished some day ;)
It's a very good and well-written story and it desereves an ending.

 

 



Author's Response: thanks so much! I promise it will get an ending.!! Thanks for the feedback, it is always aprpeciated!

Reviewer: jen Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30/12/07 03:14 pm
Title: Chapter 12 - A Deal with the Devil

Hold your horses.

Stop the presses.

Just a darn minute.

Abort the mission.

Tsk. Tsk. Tsk. We betas work our fingers to the bone cleaning up the mess you call punctuation, grammar, spelling, vocabulary, sentences, storylines, punctuation, etc. just so you look good and readers are fooled into thinking you're actually literate and know how to put more than two words together. lol 

(Said with dripping sarcasm.) And then, Jacci, my friend, I'm soooo saddened (holding tongue in cheek so excuse mumbling) accuses us of the delay??? Well, okay, perfection does take a little time. (Drops of sarcasm and tears falling on my shoe, ugh - get it off!)

And then you, my friend KatieQ, do not come to our defense??? I'm crushed. (which makes talking even harder, when you're flat as a pancake, like Jay tosses in the air.) sniff, sniff (wipes nose on sleeve - not mine, Ken's. lol)

You'll both just have to make a public (pretender fan public only - others would think it's weird) apology to me here and I'll expect a glowing testimonial in the next A/N for ch.13 for which, as you know, your muse called on the great manatees in the sky for guidance. (You can say thanks to Onisius too, if you want.) So do I win the prize for most run-on sentences in a review? BTW, great chapter.

Nothing left to say, except I'm going for a hike in      Topanga Canyon. hehe  lmao  hahaha  lol

 

 

 



Author's Response: you  made me laugh.. i have no idea waht you speak off oh wise gramatically correct manatee lover, esq

Reviewer: Scapegoat (single tear escaping down cheek) Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/08/07 02:04 pm
Title: Chapter 12 - A Deal with the Devil

yay, another chapter!! pls tell me you've got more, the wait is killing me inside!

Author's Response: there will be more..I promise!! I'll try and be as quick as possible!!

Reviewer: CrackerjacknPez Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/08/07 11:34 pm
Title: Chapter 12 - A Deal with the Devil

Finally! Very intriguing chapter. Cox is an interesting addition and I can't wait to see what Miss Parker has up her sleeve for Lyle. Keep it up keep it up!



Author's Response: thanks :).... i'm trying to squeeze the writing in whenever i can!!

Reviewer: TLM Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/08/07 03:13 pm
Title: Chapter 12 - A Deal with the Devil

(yawn)  Well, it's been so long KatieQ I almost forgot where I left off. (stiffling another yawn)   It seems your Muse has been hibernating like Sarah's.  (pausing to take a sip of coffee while eyeing my sharp pointy stick that sits patienly in the corner)  I suppose to you want a reveiw huh?

Well ... in that case, it was good, very good.  Like the interaction between Broots and Jay.  And that slice of Miss Parker/Lyle  interaction was priceless, even the mastercard ads can't beat it!  Henrik is still a little wessel, and I worry about Lys.   OK, I suppose (hope, demand, pray for) the next chapter to be a kick ass one?

 



Author's Response: How kind of you to leave a review, despite the pathetic wait time... i hope you shall enjoy the next chapter.. a lot of things shall start to unravel.. so we'll discuss them..say in two months time?? (just kidding. .i hope anyways)

Reviewer: RaChell Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 31/07/07 02:31 pm
Title: Chapter 12 - A Deal with the Devil

Love it!  Better late than never!  Need more soon.  Creepy old man is really starting to freak me out.  It's so good, I've lost the ability to write complete sentences;)

Author's Response: i will do my very best to bring more soon. I'm glad visser is creeping everyone out.. he's doing the job he is supposed to! Thanks for the review

Reviewer: MP Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 31/07/07 08:08 am
Title: Chapter 12 - A Deal with the Devil

Oh intriguing

So many new questions added to the mix, will be looking forward to the answers



Author's Response: Thanks Sarah.. i promise all shall be answered.. :)

Reviewer: Manoline Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 31/07/07 03:28 am
Title: Chapter 12 - A Deal with the Devil

Great chapter, almost worth the wait.  The story keeps getting better and better.  And to quote someone else: more please. 

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed Tina!! I have to make up for the fact Jarod keeps getting away in Nothing Means Something in this one ;).. but thanks for the review and hopefully le muse will cooperate better this time around..

Reviewer: Tinanaz Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/07/07 10:43 pm
Title: Chapter 11 - Changing Tides

pleasepleasepleasepleasePLEASE give me more!

Author's Response:

Hey!!

 

I promise there will be more.. i just cannot promise when!! RL is keepign me busy, so i can't complain, it just doesn't give the muse much (any) time to do her thing. I'm about 2/3 of the way done the next part.. but I'm glad you are enjoying :P

 

  

Reviewer: MP Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 08/07/07 06:23 pm
Title: Chapter 11 - Changing Tides

AARGH!! What a cliffhanger!!! I hope you don’t intend on leaving us hanging for too long… you just gave me just a little inkling of hope in a world you created, of naught else but suffering and depression; I hope you can come up w/ something to back up the little night-light of hope you just produced!!!  :-p

Author's Response: night-light of hope... lmao! I love it. I'm really trying and i do apologize for the wait. The outside world is keeping me oh so busy!! I promise to keep kicking away at the next part... and agian SORRY for keeping you waiting. Thanks for the feedback though :)

Reviewer: CrackerjacknPez Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/06/07 12:00 pm
Title: Chapter 6 - Worse than Isolation

I love it so far!!!!  It's just, so...  so Pretenderish, I can't stand it!!!  Great keeping w/ the characters, and I can't wait to read the contining saga of this fic and Surrender!!! I've only just now able to get online, so I REALLY can't wait to read more!!

Reviewer: Crackerjacknpez Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 02/06/07 01:53 pm
Title: Prologue

MP.jpgNice to see you decided to grace us with another chapter while I was gone!  About time and a exciting one too.  Yes, I want to know about Lys also and just how is the old man going to help?  Love the interaction with Miss Parker and Syd.  As for Broots and J,  what a hoot!  Now do I have to plan another trip to Texas to get another chapter out of you? 

Author's Response:

please..don't visit texas on my behalf..the consequences of too much time there are to too dire..

i'm glad you enjoyed, and for your information i am happily writing away.. so it shouldn't be too long. but as always.. it's gotta go through the beta's first. :)

hope you had fun in texas

 

and i promise.. lys.. weird old man.. all shall be revealed...soon...ish... 

Reviewer: RaChell Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24/05/07 09:37 pm
Title: Chapter 11 - Changing Tides

Yessssssssss sketchy old guy is going to help Jarod out of this hell hole. Hopefully, and hopefully he's not tricking him. Oh that would be frustrating. And what about Lys? Someone's got to rescue her, too. This was a great chapter, very suspenseful. Looking forward to the next one!

Author's Response: ooh leading me on to the desired outcome eh?? hehehe. time will tell! thanks for the review :D

Reviewer: TLM Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/05/07 09:29 am
Title: Chapter 10 - Of What to Come

First off, KatieQ, very nice and intense.  Almost cried when Jarod admitted he was defeated and really wonder if you are going to take that line a step futher:  "There was another way, one life whose termination would save them all." 

Nice seeing Lys back even if she's not doing well.  I really feel for her.   Miss Jarod's cell mate, the old man.  I know you are going to have him fit in some how and am curious.  And I miss Parker & Co.  next chapter maybe???

Now that's out of the way  ...  Well it is about time you posted another chapter!  I've waited and waited and what do you do?  Post it when I'm gone.  (wiping away a tear or two) And I suppose since I'll be in Texas next weekend w/o a computer, you'll post another chapter.  I'm seriously thinking of of poking you with my sharp pointy stick.  I'll have to un-pack it first since I'm planning a trip to see Parker (Thunderchild.)  On second thought, you've been hanging around with the Bad Boys of Africa a lot of late, so maybe I'll just save it for Parker.  ;)

MP.jpg



Author's Response:

hahaha.. you make me laugh RaChell

 just because i luv you so muhc, I'll be sure to post the chapter next weekend.. seriously who visits Texas?? 

 although our friendly dictator has told me i cannot post anymore africa until you have agreed to write the next sleepyhead.. so poke that stick in the other direction chiquita.

jokes aside, i'm glad you enjoyed.. lots of MP& co in the next chappie (I know because it's already written) and a bit of our mysterious man.. not to much though. 

till next time :P

Reviewer: RaChell Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13/05/07 11:10 am


Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.