Title: Epilogue: Orientation day

Hi just read your story it was good.



Author's Response:

So ... not entirely horrified by the ending? lol

Thanks for reading and leaving a review!

Reviewer: Katescats Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29/12/13 03:53 am
Title: To be free

That's true though (about the mix tapes).

Unless Jarod can convince a young Miss Parker to run away with him, I guess he is limited. I don't think he'll give up his freedom though, so he may have to leave her for a while. Can't wait to find out how this plays out.

Author's Response:

Uh-oh, keep reading. You might not like the ending.

Freedom is a relative concept. Is Original Jarod free? Sure he's no longer locked in a cell, but he can't stay in any one place long enough to develop normal friendships/relationships either. Miss Parker, Broots and Sydney probably all think of themselves as free, and they're all obviously better off than pre-escape Jarod, but they can't exactly walk away even when doing evil. I doubt Miss Parker thought she would end up as she did, chasing someone down for *years*, back whenever she agreed to go work for her father. (One thing that worries me about the new young-MP-at-training-camp novels is that they might make the mistake of portraying her as being brainwashed, which would remove all agency from the character and ruin the great banality-of-evil thing they have going. But I digress ...)

Also the Centre has more options, because both Jarod and Sydney do not realize that some of the sims are being used for evil purposes. He must have done a ton of legitimate good ones, or they never would have been able to keep him captive until his mid-30s.

 



Author's Response:

Uh-oh, keep reading. You might not like the ending.

Freedom is a relative concept. Is Original Jarod free? Sure he's no longer locked in a cell, but he can't stay in any one place long enough to develop normal friendships/relationships either. Miss Parker, Broots and Sydney probably all think of themselves as free, and they're all obviously better off than pre-escape Jarod, but they can't exactly walk away even when doing evil. I doubt Miss Parker thought she would end up as she did, chasing someone down for *years*, back whenever she agreed to go work for her father. (One thing that worries me about the new young-MP-at-training-camp novels is that they might make the mistake of portraying her as being brainwashed, which would remove all agency from the character and ruin the great banality-of-evil thing they have going. But I digress ...)

Also the Centre has more options, because both Jarod and Sydney do not realize that some of the sims are being used for evil purposes. He must have done a ton of legitimate good ones, or they never would have been able to keep him captive until his mid-30s.

 

Reviewer: M Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/12/13 06:30 am
Title: Mixed tapes

Uh oh! Sounds like an experiment to me. I hope Jarod has a plan or comes up with one soon. Loved that girls were making mix tapes for Jarod.

Author's Response:

Jarod's options are limited ... if he wants to stay with Parker.

Proof that I'm old: I sort of miss the mix tape era a little bit. Trading mp3s on your iPod just doesn't require the same dedication or care. :-)

Reviewer: M Rose Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 20/12/13 07:06 pm
Title: The simulation

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!



Author's Response:

I'm going to assume that's a happy wow and not a disgusted & horrified wow, lol. Thank you for reading & reviewing!

Reviewer: Katescats Anonymous starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 09/12/13 12:20 am
Title: The simulation

Not a shipper, eh? Yeah, okay. Seriously though, amazing job. Very sensual. Definitely in my happy shipper place.

Author's Response:

Ha! Well I never said they wouldn't be hot together, just that it is a hard sell to establish a real (functional) relationship in canon 'verse. The only way I see it happening is if she turns her back on the Centre, and time and time again she chooses them over him.

Glad you liked the chapter ;-)

Reviewer: M Rose Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/12/13 09:24 am
Title: Sunrise, sunset

Great new chapter, thank you very much. I like that you acknowledged, that Miss Parker didn't have a great childhood either and that she wasn't allowed to be a kid and just play all the time.

I'm a little in love with this story, so keep it coming!



Author's Response:

Awwww, thank you. It's definitely motivating to hear your kind words :-)

And yes, even after thinking about it awhile I can't picture Miss P's childhood as anything but one of repression and -- after her mother's death -- utter neglect. It would be like losing two parents at once, only one is still technically alive to throw you a bone of a few minutes attention on occasion.

Reviewer: Leonie1988 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/12/13 12:10 am
Title: The black swan

Nice! Finally Jarod loosened up a bit! Well done, I can't wait for more :)



Author's Response:

Thank you! I finally finished some more, lol.

Reviewer: Leonie1988 Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/11/13 02:58 pm
Title: To be free

No, that's RedRose.

Then I'll have to savor that next chapter.;)

Author's Response:

Sorry I didn't make it by last weekend, it's been hectic the past week! Should have more time next week however.

Reviewer: M Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/11/13 04:02 am
Title: The black swan

I cannot tell you just how enjoyable I'm finding this story. Love the growing relationship between Jarod and Parker. Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response:

Thank you! Are you the same "Rose" that's writing Yunasa?

I will try and crank out another chapter by the end of the weekend, then there might be a bit of a break because I'm travelling around Thanksgiving.

Reviewer: M Rose Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21/11/13 07:30 am
Title: The company man

Love this story!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing, glad you like it!

Reviewer: Me Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18/11/13 05:27 am
Title: Friendly intentions

Thanks for the new chapter! It's fun to read and interesting. I like it, that Parker and Jarod don't know everything yet. He doesn't know that his parents are still alive etc.

I look forward to the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing! The fact that youngish Jarod didn't immediately run off to investigate his parents like his older counterpart will be addressed soon ...

Reviewer: Leonie1988 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/11/13 05:32 pm
Title: Parker family Christmas

Great job again. :)

Reviewer: Danielle SmileyFace Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/11/13 04:25 am
Title: To be free

A refreshing take of an AU story. Jarod lost so many years at The Centre, it's nice to read about what would happen if Jarod escaped as a young man. Its also nice to see Parker before she got bitter and abrasive, but still tough. Hope she can keep "Daddy" from finding out about Jarod. Can't wait to read more. Please keep writing.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your review! Although I think with Miss Parker and abrasiveness, that ship may already have sailed, lol. But bitterness, for sure. The interesting thing about writing about people in their early 20s is that, no matter how much parental or cultural pressure there is to move their lives in a certain direction, they still have a choice. They are not yet highly constrained by choices already made earlier in life. So MP has a choice to advance the Centre's interests or not, Jarod has a choice whether to spend his days deceiving people (even in the name of a good cause), etc.

Reviewer: M Rose Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/11/13 07:35 am
Title: Party like it's 1979

lmao- what a greeting!  Can't wait to see the rest of their reunion. :)



Author's Response:

Thanks! Next chapter - Miss Parker's point of view!

Reviewer: Danielle SmileyFace Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/10/13 04:05 am
Title: The Reedie contingent

Loved it! :)  I hope Jarod stays with them til the West Coast! :)

Reviewer: Danielle SmileyFace Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/10/13 03:58 am
Title: To be free

Loving it so far. :)  

Reviewer: Danielle SmileyFace Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/10/13 08:57 am
Title: To be free

intersting idea. enjoyed it so far alot.



Author's Response:

Thanks! It will be interesting when Jarod gets to meet some people his own age. Hopefully I'll have some time to work on this story in a few weeks.

Reviewer: Sydneys Dilemma Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 21/09/13 09:24 am


Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.